Glynn Vivian Art Gallery: blog

Welsh artist Helen Sear wins The Wakelin Award 2013


Helen Sear Still from Chameleon 2013The presentation of a major arts award will take place at Swansea’s Grand Theatre on Friday evening (September 6).

The annual award is given to a Welsh artist whose work will appear in the Glynn Vivian Art Gallery’s permanent collection.

This year’s winner is Helen Sear, whose work called ‘Chameleon’ has been picked. ‘Chameleon’ is a high definition video projection of a sunflower that was filmed by the artist in her garden deep in the dead of night by torchlight.

Helen, who lives in Raglan, works primarily in photography and lens-based media. She teaches at the University of Wales Newport and has recently been appointed a faculty member at the British School in Rome – a centre for research excellence supporting the arts.

Helen said: “I’m delighted that Chameleon will be joining a major public collection in Swansea and I’m pleased to have been selected.  The Wakelin Award offers recognition for artists such as myself based in Wales and I’d like to thank the organisers for their generosity. I look forward to my video installation joining the work of both past and future award holders.”

The award is administered by the Friends of the Glynn Vivian Art Gallery and is generously supported by donations in memory of Richard and Rosemary Wakelin, who were themselves artists and active supporters of the arts in Swansea.

 Jenni Spencer-Davies, Curator at the Glynn Vivian Art Gallery, said: “The Wakelin Award has enabled the gallery to acquire many significant works by artists in Wales for the collection over the last 13 years. We’re very pleased this year to acquire this remarkable new work by Helen Sear. The award is truly supportive of artists working today, and the gallery is deeply appreciative of the continuing generosity of the award’s supporters, the Friends of the Glynn Vivian and the organisers of the award.”

The award will be presented at 6.30pm in the Grand Theatre. Admission is free. 

Previous award winners include Robert Harding, David Tress, Pete Davis, Craig Wood, David Garner, Tim Davies, Dick Chappell, Brendan Stuart Burns, Anthony Shapland, Catrin Webster, Jonathan Anderson, Mari Wells and David Cushway.


  1. Pingback: News from this Summer | USWphotoart USWphotoart

  2. Pingback: Helen Sear Selected to Represent Wales at the Venice Biennale 2015

  3. Pingback: New Blood Art | Buy Original Art Online

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Discover Swansea logo Friends of the Glynn Vivian Art Gallery logo
Arts Council of Wales logo Welsh Assembly Government logo Tate Plus logo Heritage Lottery Fund Logo City and County of Swansea logo